I always seem to get to my blog late in the evening … hmm! Anyway – I’ve spent time playing with the themes tonight and also the widgets (on the right sidebar!) At the moment these aren’t well organised.. and there are draft comments which I will get around to tidying up this weekend. The practice has been good as I feel better now about what the Web 2.0 group will be doing next Monday.

But my posting for tonight.

Covey’s Eighth Habit
I’ve started reading Steven Covey’s “The Eighth Habit” From Effectiveness to Greatness. I had originally bought the text during my Flexible Learning Leaders in New Zealand year but hadn’t got to read it at the time. In some ways I’m glad I didn’t read and tick it off my list then as I think I’m getting much more from it this time. I thought I might start some postings on my reading of this text as I’m finding as I read that I’m reflecting back on Covey’s ideas

Covey draws on R.D. Laing who said:

the range of what we think and do is limited by what we fail to notice. And because we fail to notice that we fail to notice, there is little we can do to change; until we notice how failing to notice shapes our thoughts and deeds.”

Covey suggests that you read, think about and reread Laings’ quotation. Well I followed his advice and linked it to professional development.

The range of what we think and do about professional development is limited by what we fail to notice. If we think that learning is only gained in more formal ways by experts, we will fail to notice the important learning that comes through reflection on practice in supervision, or a ah-hah moment that occurs in discussion about a tricky situation with a colleague. And because we fail to notice that we fail to notice, there is little we can do to change. We continue to seek or ask for the same types of learning that we’ve always had – we don’t consider how this could change. Laing goes on to say, there is little we can to to change until we notice how failing to notice shapes our thoughts and deeds. Last year the focus of my Frances Rutherford Lecture Award tried to raise therapists awareness of our approach to learning. I suggested that we have a mismatch between what we believe makes for good learning, versus what we give our energies and seek funding for. Perhaps this has happened because we have failed to notice!

Does this sound a bit vague. Then try these two exercises… Make sure you read and do the first one before scrolling to the second..

1. What has been a good learning experience for you – where were you, what did you learn, how has this learning impacted on your personal or professional life?

2. now…. what have you done recently for professional development?

3. Do you have a match between the first and second or a mismatch?

When I talk with therapists, they will tell me that they learn through doing, reflecting, talking, observing, sometimes reading, discussing etc etc etc. When I ask them to look at their last professional development activity they usually describe a seminar, workshop, conference or such like. Activities where they have sat and listened…. So do we think this way because of what we have failed to notice??? Would love to see some comments!

